Still alive and kicking…

Unknown arthropod photographed 12/31/2010 near Blissfield Michigan.

New Year’s Eve was a rather mild day amidst a cold Michigan winter, and I ventured into the woods to poke around.  I tore into some rotting wood and found these little guys nestled inside.  I really don’t know what these critters are, except that they’re arthropods and possibly insect larvae.

Unknown arthropod photographed 12/31/2010 near Blissfield Michigan.

They seemed to be having no problem surviving the winter.  When disturbed they wriggled around to show they were still alive and well.

Unknown arthropod photographed 12/31/2010 near Blissfield Michigan.

Identification of insect larvae is a step up from identifying adult insects.  It’s something I need to work on, but for now I just wanted to share these pictures of arthropod life in the depths of winter.

Unknown arthropod photographed 12/31/2010 near Blissfield Michigan.

I think this last one may be a beetle larva (order Coleoptera).  I suspect the facial structures must be useful for identification, so I shot this close-up.  While I’m not sure of the identity, I am sure it’s a face only a mother could love.

About Jeremy Sell

Science and nature nerd.
This entry was posted in Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

