A Brand New Day

Sunrise above Dover Township, Michigan on January 9, 2012.

From July of 2010 until November of 2011 I managed to fill every month with pictures and commentary of plants, animals, and geologic features I had witnessed.  Since November 2011 I’ve been absent.  Partly this is from working obsessively, and partly it’s because plants, insects, and travel to geologically interesting places are limited to me in the winter.

Last winter I managed to fill the void with some seasonal topics, but this winter I got lazy and let it go.  In January I did briefly revisit Yosemite National Park while on a business trip.  I also squeezed in a quick jaunt to Mount Saint Helens National Monument while on business near Portland Oregon.  Although these were cool places, I didn’t cover them here at the time.  Like I said, I got lazy.

This winter has been mild, and although it’s only mid-March we’ve been in the 70s F here lately in southeast Michigan.  Over the last few days I’ve seen a bunch of winter stoneflies crawling around.  I also started hearing spring peepers and other amphibians, and I realized it’s time to get back on the ball here.

I’ll probably start by covering my January trips and then move on to the recent plant and insect developments in my garden.  In April I’m heading down to Everglades, Biscayne, and Dry Tortugas National Parks in Florida.  After that I’m hoping to have some great pictures of tropical coral, fish, birds, and plants, and just maybe dolphins, manatees, sharks, crocodiles, alligators, sea turtles, and other exotic animals I have yet to see in the wild.

Stay tuned.

About Jeremy Sell

Science and nature nerd.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Brand New Day

  1. I look forward to your updates, although, being new to your work, I’m finding your website so full of interesting stuff that it’s going to take me a long time to work my way through it. Good luck on your travels, and thank you for this incredible natural history journal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

