Another large, local herd of white-tailed deer


Every winter white-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus, Cervidae)¬†congregate in a field behind my house in southeast Michigan. I’ve lived at this particular location for ten years, and every year the herd has gotten bigger. A couple of years ago I wrote about a herd that was composed of about 42 individuals. So far this winter I’ve counted almost 80 at one time.

sunsetdeer

White-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus, Cervidae) photographed 01/08/2013 near Palmyra Michigan.

Although I see these animals almost every night, today they looked especially photogenic against the setting sun.

sunsetdeer3

White-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus, Cervidae) photographed 01/08/2013 near Palmyra Michigan.

I also noticed some bucks that still had their antlers:

DSCF3035

White-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus, Cervidae) photographed 01/08/2013 near Palmyra Michigan.

Every evening these deer file out of the woods and spend most of the night mulling around the field foraging for food. Sometimes I see them right at the edge of my yard in the moonlight. I even found tracks near my door one morning.

About Jeremy Sell

Science and nature nerd.
This entry was posted in Vertebrate Zoology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

