Young eastern cottontail eating grass


The other day I noticed this young eastern cottontail (Lagomorpha: Leporidae: Sylvilagus floridanus) outside my back door eating some grass. I have a number of these rabbits around my house in southeast Michigan, and if they stuck to eating grass they would be welcome. Unfortunately they also like to occasionally eat some of the garden plants I have, making them somewhat annoying. In the past they have completely gnawed off lilies, blackberries, and small trees at the ground, but all grew back. Last year they sampled quite a few heirloom tomatoes. I now protect the plants with small bits of wire fencing, and my dalmation/Australian cattle dog mix Pepper helps chase off the rabbits.

About Jeremy Sell

Science and nature nerd.
This entry was posted in Vertebrate Zoology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

