Happy to Help

Last summer a US National Park Service employee contacted me about using one of my photos in an NPS publication. They were working on a new guide brochure for Mount Rainier National Park in Washington and stumbled across this photo from my post about that park.

deer

Columbian black-tailed deer (Artiodactyla: Cervidae: Odocoileus hemionus columbianus) photographed 08/15/2014 at Mount Rainier National Park, Washington.

Although I’ve had a few photos published, I was particularly excited about having something printed in a National Park Service publication. I was honored to grant them permission to use the photo, and today I received copies of the new park guide.

morabrochure

New park guide for Mount Rainier National Park, with my photo shown in the bottom center.

Although my humble photo is relatively modest in the overall layout, I’m happy to play even a small role in the conservation and education goals of the National Park Service. Although I know I contribute through park fees and donations to the National Park Foundation, this particular donation was especially meaningful to me. I’m always happy to help advance the cause of protecting and preserving the most spectacular places in America.

morameclose

New park guide for Mount Rainier National Park, with my photo shown.

About Jeremy Sell

Science and nature nerd.
This entry was posted in General, National Parks, Vertebrate Zoology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy to Help

  1. Miriam says:

    What an absolute buzz for you! Congratulations. It’s a great shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an honor! It is a beautiful photo.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Inger says:

    Awesome that they wanted to use your photo in a National Park Service publication – and the photo is beautiful off course 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. wisreader says:

    I would love to tripple-“like” this. It IS a beautiful photo (so there’s 1 “like”) and it is SO cool that NPS asked for this (two “likes”) and this is just great (so three “likes” ). Enjoy the moment!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

