Random Insect: Snout beetle

curculionid3

Snout beetle (Coleoptera: Curculionidae) photographed 05/29/2013 near Clayton, Michigan.

Although I frequently encounter many different snout and bark beetles (Coleoptera: Curculionidae) I don’t usually make an attempt to identify them beyond the family level. With over 40,000 known species in this enormous animal family, further identification could make anyone other than an expert go mad studying the minute physical features that differentiate them.

curculionid2

Snout beetle (Coleoptera: Curculionidae) photographed 05/29/2013 near Clayton, Michigan.

These insects are most intriguing to me when I find them feeding on plants, since knowing their host species can help with identification. It’s particularly interesting to identify pestiferous species, if only to know what’s threatening my yard and garden.

curculionid1

Snout beetle (Coleoptera: Curculionidae) photographed 05/29/2013 near Clayton, Michigan.

About Jeremy Sell

Science and nature nerd.
This entry was posted in Entomology, Random Insect and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random Insect: Snout beetle

  1. Truly amazing photos and the information was great. I love get details that expand my knowledge base.

    Like

  2. Mike Powell says:

    You and I obviously travel in different circles–I don’t frequently encounter beetles of any sort. Cool-looking shots. Were you shooting one-handed for those shots?

    Like

  3. Jeremy Sell says:

    I was shooting one-handed. It sometimes helps to pick the insects up in order to manipulate them into better light and desired angles.

    Like

Leave a comment